Robert Balzar trio

The Robert Balzar Trio was founded in 1996 with Robert Balzar – double bass, Stanislav Macha – piano, Marek Patrman – drums. Since then they have recorded six albums and a DVD. Most of their repertoire consists of their own compositions or arrangements of jazz standards. The group has performed at many concerts and festivals abroad (USA, UK, Turkey, Sweden, Hungary, Israel and others).

Their first album Travelling (Jazzpoint), released in 1998, was awarded “Czech Disc of the Year 1998” (Czech Radio – Jazztest). The second album Alone (Cube/Metier) from 2000 was awarded “Album of the Year 2000” (K. Velebný Award) and the R. Balzar Trio was awarded “Band of the Year 2000”. The collaboration with singer Yvonne Sanchez resulted in another successful recording, Invitation (Cube/Metier), which was nominated for the “Angel 2002” award. The trio’s third album Overnight (Sony/BMG) was nominated for the same award in 2005. In 2006 the band performed at many international festivals – Istanbul Jazz Festival (TR), Birmingham Jazz Festival (UK), Stockholm (S), and the following year a series of international concerts followed – Tel Aviv Jazz Festival (Israel), Cheltenham Jazz Festival (UK), USA – Chicago. On the next recording TALES (Sony/BMG) the group was joined by the world famous American jazz guitarist John Abercrombie (ECM), with whom the trio toured in early 2009 (Czech Republic, Slovakia, England). At the end of the same year they concentrated on touring with singer Dan Barta, including several concerts in Spain, where they presented a programme from their forthcoming album (Theyories 2010, Taita), which was later nominated for the “Angel 2010” award. At the end of 2012, a new pianist, Jiří Levíček (who has been living in the USA for a long time), joined the RBT, which led to the enrichment of the repertoire with new compositions and arrangements; the trio acquired a new sound. In 2013 and 2014 the trio recorded the albums “Discover Who We Are” in New York (Sear Sound Studio) with the help of the renowned sound engineer James Farber and “VuJa-dé”. In 2015, RBT was joined by a new drummer Kamil Slezák and the band recorded a DVD “OneDay” (a recording of an open-air concert in the forest near Polička). A year later they toured with the Italian clarinettist Gabriele Mirabassi. In 2018, the pianist was replaced, Vítek Křišťan joined the ensemble and RBT once again set out to find new opportunities and musical paths. In 2021 RBT recorded the album Silence together with Kornél Kovács and Veronika Harcsa.

Members of the group:

Robert Balzar – double bass

Vít Krisšt’an – piano

Kamil Slezák – drums




+8 photo galleries


To this date we have organized for you 1284 Concerts